Answering service pricing, compared plan by plan.
Fifteen named vendors, 58 published plans, each sourced and dated. Callable prices neither by plan nor by bundle: a per-minute rate itemized by layer, with a source and a price-book version on every row.
Part of the answering-service hub. Compared here against every rate in the table below.
How answering services charge.
Nearly every plan in the table below fits one of three shapes.
Per minute, no bundle
A flat rate for every minute of talk time, with no monthly floor. PATLive, MAP Communications, and Specialty Answering Service each publish a pay-as-you-go tier billed this way: a small base fee plus a per-minute rate, with zero minutes bundled in.
Monthly bundle of calls, with overage
A flat monthly fee buys a set number of calls, and any call past that runs at a published per-call rate. Smith.ai’s human and AI-receptionist plans, and Upfirst’s four tiers, all bill this way.
Monthly bundle of minutes, with overage
A flat monthly fee buys a set number of minutes, and any minute past that runs at a published per-minute rate. PATLive’s tiered plans, MAP Communications, VoiceNation (now Moneypenny), Specialty Answering Service’s tiered plans, Ambs Call Center, and Dialzara all bill this way. Ruby’s tiered plans use the same bundle-of-minutes shape, but Ruby doesn’t publish a flat overage rate. Ruby’s own FAQ says extra minutes are billed automatically at an unpublished per-plan rate, with in-app usage alerts at 85% and 100% of the plan; contacting Ruby’s Customer Happiness team is only needed to change plan tiers, not to trigger overage billing.
Answering service pricing, plan by plan.
All 58 rows are published rates, read from each vendor’s own pricing page and dated below. Where a vendor’s own page doesn’t publish a figure, the row says so rather than guessing.
| Vendor | Kind | Plan | Price | Billing | Included | Overage | Source | Date read |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Ruby Receptionists | Human | 50-minute plan | $250 | per month | 50 receptionist minutes/month | Not disclosed on the pricing page; Ruby’s FAQ states extra minutes are billed automatically at an unpublished per-plan overage rate (no sales conversation is required for overage to be billed; contact is only for changing plan tiers) | ruby.com/plans-and-pricing | 2026-09-24 |
| Ruby Receptionists | Human | 100-minute plan | $395 | per month | 100 receptionist minutes/month | Not disclosed on the pricing page; Ruby’s FAQ states extra minutes are billed automatically at an unpublished per-plan overage rate (no sales conversation is required for overage to be billed; contact is only for changing plan tiers) | ruby.com/plans-and-pricing | 2026-09-24 |
| Ruby Receptionists | Human | 200-minute plan (Most popular) | $720 | per month | 200 receptionist minutes/month | Not disclosed on the pricing page; Ruby’s FAQ states extra minutes are billed automatically at an unpublished per-plan overage rate (no sales conversation is required for overage to be billed; contact is only for changing plan tiers) | ruby.com/plans-and-pricing | 2026-09-24 |
| Ruby Receptionists | Human | 500-minute plan | $1,725 | per month | 500 receptionist minutes/month | Not disclosed on the pricing page; Ruby’s FAQ states extra minutes are billed automatically at an unpublished per-plan overage rate (no sales conversation is required for overage to be billed; contact is only for changing plan tiers) | ruby.com/plans-and-pricing | 2026-09-24 |
| Smith.ai (human receptionists) | Human | Starter | $300 | per month | 30 calls/month | $11.50 per call over 30 | smith.ai/pricing/receptionists | 2026-09-24 |
| Smith.ai (human receptionists) | Human | Basic | $810 | per month | 90 calls/month | $10.50 per call over 90 | smith.ai/pricing/receptionists | 2026-09-24 |
| Smith.ai (human receptionists) | Human | Pro | $2,100 | per month | 300 calls/month | $8.50 per call over 300 | smith.ai/pricing/receptionists | 2026-09-24 |
| Abby Connect | Hybrid | Starter | $165 | per month | 50 Abby Minutes/month (1 human-answered minute = 1 Abby Minute; 1 AI-answered minute = 0.5 Abby Minute) | Billed at the plan’s per-Abby-Minute rate (no flat number published) | abby.com/pricing | 2026-09-24 |
| Abby Connect | Hybrid | Essential | $329 | per month | 100 Abby Minutes/month | Billed at the plan’s per-Abby-Minute rate (no flat number published) | abby.com/pricing | 2026-09-24 |
| Abby Connect | Hybrid | Professional | $599 | per month | 200 Abby Minutes/month | Billed at the plan’s per-Abby-Minute rate (no flat number published) | abby.com/pricing | 2026-09-24 |
| Abby Connect | Hybrid | Growth | $1,380 | per month | 500 Abby Minutes/month | Billed at the plan’s per-Abby-Minute rate (no flat number published) | abby.com/pricing | 2026-09-24 |
| PATLive | Human | Pay As You Go | $49 | per month + per minute | 0 minutes bundled (base access fee) | $2.99 per minute | patlive.com/pricing | 2026-09-24 |
| PATLive | Human | 100 Minutes | $189 | per month | 100 minutes/month | $2.09 per minute | patlive.com/pricing | 2026-09-24 |
| PATLive | Human | 200 Minutes (most popular) | $349 | per month | 200 minutes/month | $1.99 per minute | patlive.com/pricing | 2026-09-24 |
| PATLive | Human | 500 Minutes | $759 | per month | 500 minutes/month | $1.79 per minute | patlive.com/pricing | 2026-09-24 |
| PATLive | Human | 1,000 Minutes | $1,499 | per month | 1,000 minutes/month | $1.69 per minute | patlive.com/pricing | 2026-09-24 |
| PATLive | Human | 5,000 Minutes | $6,899 | per month | 5,000 minutes/month | $1.49 per minute | patlive.com/pricing | 2026-09-24 |
| MAP Communications | Human | Pay As You Go | $49 | per month + per minute | 0 minutes bundled (base access fee) | $1.37 per minute | mapcommunications.com/pricing | 2026-09-24 |
| MAP Communications | Human | Business (most popular) | $179 | per month | 125 minutes/month | $1.30 per minute | mapcommunications.com/pricing | 2026-09-24 |
| MAP Communications | Human | Enterprise | $339 | per month | 250 minutes/month | $1.28 per minute | mapcommunications.com/pricing | 2026-09-24 |
| MAP Communications | Human | Premium | $649 | per month | 500 minutes/month | $1.28 per minute | mapcommunications.com/pricing | 2026-09-24 |
| VoiceNation (now Moneypenny) | Human | 50 Minutes | $165 | per month | 50 minutes/month | $2.28 per minute | moneypenny.com/us/pricing | 2026-09-24 |
| VoiceNation (now Moneypenny) | Human | 100 Minutes | $265 | per month | 100 minutes/month | $2.12 per minute | moneypenny.com/us/pricing | 2026-09-24 |
| VoiceNation (now Moneypenny) | Human | 200 Minutes (most popular) | $422 | per month | 200 minutes/month | $1.91 per minute | moneypenny.com/us/pricing | 2026-09-24 |
| VoiceNation (now Moneypenny) | Human | 500 Minutes | $985 | per month | 500 minutes/month | $1.67 per minute | moneypenny.com/us/pricing | 2026-09-24 |
| Specialty Answering Service | Human | Economy | $44 | per month + per minute | 0 minutes bundled (base access fee) | $1.54 per minute | specialtyansweringservice.net/pricing | 2026-09-24 |
| Specialty Answering Service | Human | 100 Minute | $159 | per month | 100 minutes/month | $1.44 per minute | specialtyansweringservice.net/pricing | 2026-09-24 |
| Specialty Answering Service | Human | 500 Minute | $649 | per month | 500 minutes/month | $1.34 per minute | specialtyansweringservice.net/pricing | 2026-09-24 |
| Specialty Answering Service | Human | 1,000 Minute | $1,199 | per month | 1,000 minutes/month | $1.29 per minute | specialtyansweringservice.net/pricing | 2026-09-24 |
| Specialty Answering Service | Human | 10,000 Minute | $10,599 | per month | 10,000 minutes/month | $1.09 per minute | specialtyansweringservice.net/pricing | 2026-09-24 |
| Ambs Call Center | Human | Real People - 100 Minutes | $149 | per month | 100 minutes/month | $1.29 per minute, plus an $85 one-time setup fee | ambscallcenter.com/pricing | 2026-09-24 |
| Ambs Call Center | Human | Real People - 250 Minutes | $330 | per month | 250 minutes/month | $1.23 per minute, plus an $85 one-time setup fee | ambscallcenter.com/pricing | 2026-09-24 |
| Ambs Call Center | Human | Real People - 500 Minutes (most popular) | $600 | per month | 500 minutes/month | $1.22 per minute, plus an $85 one-time setup fee | ambscallcenter.com/pricing | 2026-09-24 |
| Ambs Call Center | Human | Real People - 1,000 Minutes | $1,195 | per month | 1,000 minutes/month | $1.21 per minute, plus an $85 one-time setup fee | ambscallcenter.com/pricing | 2026-09-24 |
| Ambs Call Center | Human | Real People - 2,500+ Minutes | $2,945 | per month | 2,500+ minutes/month | $1.20 per minute, plus an $85 one-time setup fee | ambscallcenter.com/pricing | 2026-09-24 |
| Smith.ai (AI Receptionist) | AI | Free | $0 | per month + per call | 25 calls/month | $3.00 per call after 25 | smith.ai/pricing/ai-receptionist | 2026-09-24 |
| Smith.ai (AI Receptionist) | AI | Pro | $150 | per month + per call | ~75 calls/month at the entry tier (volume-tiered) | $2.17 to $2.50 per call, depending on tier (75 to 300 calls) | smith.ai/pricing/ai-receptionist | 2026-09-24 |
| Smith.ai (AI Receptionist) | AI | Enterprise | $500 | per month + per call | ~300 calls/month at the entry tier (volume-tiered, scales to 1,000+) | $2.10 to $2.17 per call, depending on committed volume (300 to 500+ calls) | smith.ai/pricing/ai-receptionist | 2026-09-24 |
| Ambs Call Center (AI Receptionist) | AI | Starter | $19 | per month + per minute | Base plan; AI minutes billed per minute from the first minute | $0.79 per AI minute, plus an $85 one-time setup fee | ambscallcenter.com/pricing | 2026-09-24 |
| Ambs Call Center (AI Receptionist) | AI | 100 Minutes | $75 | per month | 100 AI minutes/month | $0.77 per minute, plus an $85 one-time setup fee | ambscallcenter.com/pricing | 2026-09-24 |
| Ambs Call Center (AI Receptionist) | AI | 250 Minutes | $185 | per month | 250 AI minutes/month | $0.75 per minute, plus an $85 one-time setup fee | ambscallcenter.com/pricing | 2026-09-24 |
| Ambs Call Center (AI Receptionist) | AI | 500 Minutes | $350 | per month | 500 AI minutes/month | $0.72 per minute, plus an $85 one-time setup fee | ambscallcenter.com/pricing | 2026-09-24 |
| Ambs Call Center (AI Receptionist) | AI | 1,000 Minutes | $650 | per month | 1,000 AI minutes/month | $0.70 per minute, plus an $85 one-time setup fee | ambscallcenter.com/pricing | 2026-09-24 |
| Rosie | AI | Professional | $49 | per month | 250 minutes/month | Not disclosed on the pricing page | heyrosie.com/pricing | 2026-09-24 |
| Rosie | AI | Scale | $149 | per month | 1,000 minutes/month | Not disclosed on the pricing page | heyrosie.com/pricing | 2026-09-24 |
| Rosie | AI | Growth | $299 | per month | 2,000 minutes/month | Not disclosed on the pricing page | heyrosie.com/pricing | 2026-09-24 |
| Goodcall | AI | Starter | $79 | per month per agent | Unlimited minutes and tokens; 100 unique customers/month | $0.50 per unique customer after 100 | goodcall.com/pricing | 2026-09-24 |
| Goodcall | AI | Growth (most popular) | $129 | per month per agent | Unlimited minutes and tokens; 250 unique customers/month | $0.50 per unique customer after 250 | goodcall.com/pricing | 2026-09-24 |
| Goodcall | AI | Scale | $249 | per month per agent | Unlimited minutes and tokens; 500 unique customers/month | $0.50 per unique customer after 500 | goodcall.com/pricing | 2026-09-24 |
| My AI Front Desk (rebranded “Frontdesk”) | AI | Business-in-a-Box | $99 | per month (or $79/mo billed annually) | 200 voice minutes/month | 25 credits per minute (about $0.25/min); auto-reload $10 per 1,000 credits | myaifrontdesk.com/pricing | 2026-09-24 |
| Dialzara | AI | Business Lite | $29 | per month | 60 receptionist minutes/month | $0.48 per minute | dialzara.com/pricing | 2026-09-24 |
| Dialzara | AI | Business Pro | $99 | per month | 220 receptionist minutes/month | $0.45 per minute | dialzara.com/pricing | 2026-09-24 |
| Dialzara | AI | Business Plus | $199 | per month | 500 receptionist minutes/month | $0.40 per minute | dialzara.com/pricing | 2026-09-24 |
| Dialzara | AI | Business Elite | $349 | per month | 1,000 receptionist minutes/month | $0.35 per minute | dialzara.com/pricing | 2026-09-24 |
| Upfirst | AI | Starter | $24.95 | per month (or $20/mo billed annually) | 30 calls/month | $1.50 per call | upfirst.ai/pricing | 2026-09-24 |
| Upfirst | AI | Premium | $59.95 | per month (or $48/mo billed annually) | 90 calls/month | $1.00 per call | upfirst.ai/pricing | 2026-09-24 |
| Upfirst | AI | Pro (Most popular) | $159.95 | per month (or $128/mo billed annually) | 300 calls/month | $0.75 per call | upfirst.ai/pricing | 2026-09-24 |
| Upfirst | AI | Scale | $299 | per month (or $240/mo billed annually) | 600 calls/month | $0.70 per call | upfirst.ai/pricing | 2026-09-24 |
How these prices were read.
Every row above was read directly from the vendor’s own public pricing page on 2026-09-24, or a text-proxy fetch of that same page where the vendor’s site blocked an automated fetch. No price was estimated or pulled from a review site or from a competitor’s own marketing claim about another vendor.
All 58 rows were re-verified the same day: plan name, price, billing basis, included minutes or calls, and overage rate, checked again against the live page. One correction came out of that pass: Upfirst’s Starter plan billed annually runs $20 a month, not the $24 a month an earlier read recorded.
Eight vendors are not in the table. Seven of them did not publish a plan, a price, or a minute count in a form this table could carry on the date read: AnswerConnect, AnswerForce, and Answering Service Care gate the page behind a lead form or a bot check; Nexa Receptionists and TeleDirect name tiers with no dollar figures and route to a sales quote; AnswerFirst publishes a monthly base rate and a per-minute range but explicitly rejects a tiered plan structure (“No plans. No guesswork. No overage fees.”), so there is no discrete plan to list as a row; Davinci Virtual’s pricing page redirects to an error screen with no plans or prices shown. The eighth, Continental Message Solution, does publish dollar figures for four of its five named tiers, but it was not collected for this edition of the table. None of the eight is estimated here.
Virtual receptionist pricing and cost.
“Virtual receptionist” and “answering service” describe the same published plans in the table above, whether a human answers the call or an AI does. Human-answered virtual receptionist plans start at $44 a month at the lowest published tier (Specialty Answering Service’s Economy plan, a base fee plus a per-minute rate) and run into five figures a month at the highest published volume tier.
AI-answered virtual receptionist plans start at $0 (Smith.ai’s 25-call Free plan) or from about $19 to $29 a month for a paid entry plan, and the highest published AI-receptionist tier in the table runs $650 a month. Callable is priced neither way: no plan and no bundle, just a per-minute rate itemized by layer, shown in full under Callable’s own receipt below.
What 100, 300, and 1,000 calls cost, worked out.
Each model below is worked from a real published rate at 3 minutes a call, the same assumption `/cost/calculator` uses for its own baked-in example. The three competitor models are the same three representative plans (PATLive, Smith.ai’s AI Receptionist, and Dialzara) that calculator’s own “compare with a per-call answering service” mode already prices at whatever volume you enter there.
100 calls a month · about $19.72
100 calls at 3 minutes each is 300 minutes. At about $0.0619 a minute on the default stack (price book 2026-08-05), that’s about $18.57 in call minutes, plus $1.15 for one US number, for about $19.72 a month.
300 calls a month · about $56.86
300 calls at 3 minutes each is 900 minutes. At about $0.0619 a minute on the default stack (price book 2026-08-05), that’s about $55.71 in call minutes, plus $1.15 for one US number, for about $56.86 a month.
1,000 calls a month · about $186.85
1,000 calls at 3 minutes each is 3,000 minutes. At about $0.0619 a minute on the default stack (price book 2026-08-05), that’s about $185.70 in call minutes, plus $1.15 for one US number, for about $186.85 a month.
Source: See the full cost breakdown
100 calls a month · $946.00
100 calls at 3 minutes each is 300 minutes. The $49 base fee plus the published $2.99 per-minute rate on all 300 minutes (nothing is bundled) comes to $946.00.
300 calls a month · $2,740.00
300 calls at 3 minutes each is 900 minutes. The $49 base fee plus $2.99 a minute on all 900 minutes comes to $2,740.00.
1,000 calls a month · $9,019.00
1,000 calls at 3 minutes each is 3,000 minutes. The $49 base fee plus $2.99 a minute on all 3,000 minutes comes to $9,019.00.
Source: patlive.com/pricing
100 calls a month · $225.00
The Free plan has no base fee and includes 25 calls. 75 calls over that, at the published $3.00 per-call overage rate, come to $225.00 total.
300 calls a month · $825.00
275 calls over the 25 included, at $3.00 a call, come to $825.00 total.
1,000 calls a month · $2,925.00
975 calls over the 25 included, at $3.00 a call, come to $2,925.00 total.
Source: smith.ai/pricing/ai-receptionist
100 calls a month · $135.00
100 calls at 3 minutes each is 300 minutes. The $99 base fee covers 220 minutes; 80 minutes over that, at the published $0.45 per-minute overage rate, add $36.00, for $135.00 total.
300 calls a month · $405.00
300 calls at 3 minutes each is 900 minutes. 680 minutes over the 220 included, at $0.45 a minute, add $306.00 to the $99 base fee, for $405.00 total.
1,000 calls a month · $1,350.00
1,000 calls at 3 minutes each is 3,000 minutes. 2,780 minutes over the 220 included, at $0.45 a minute, add $1,251.00 to the $99 base fee, for $1,350.00 total.
Source: dialzara.com/pricing
Callable’s own receipt, itemized by layer.
Not a plan and not a bundle. Callable bills per call, and every call’s cost is itemized by layer, with a source and a price-book version on each row.
Default stack, per minute
From the product’s cost meterAbout $0.062 a minute on the default stack, at the providers’ published rates, itemized by layer on every call: carrier, transcription, model, voice. See the full cost breakdown. Run your own numbers in the calculator.
Straight answers about answering service pricing.
It depends on the billing shape and on whether a human or an AI answers. In the table above, published human-answered plans start at $44 a month and run past $10,000 a month at the highest published volume tier; published AI-answered plans start at $0 (Smith.ai’s Free tier) and run to about $650 a month at the highest published tier. Most published human-answered plans sized for a single location land between $150 and $800 a month.
The same published plans in the table above apply, whether the vendor calls itself a virtual receptionist or an answering service. Human-answered plans run $44 to five figures a month depending on volume; AI-answered plans run free to about $650 a month.
Check three things before the sticker price: whether the bundle is measured in minutes or calls, what the overage rate is once the bundle runs out, and whether the plan bills per receptionist minute or per unique customer. Callable skips the bundle model and itemizes every call by layer instead, at the rate under Callable’s own receipt below.
None of the vendors in the table above publish a separate rate for medical practices. A medical office generally buys the same tiered plan a general answering service sells, sized to its call volume. See /answering-service/medical-practices for how Callable handles a medical practice’s calls.
Most published phone-answering-service plans in the table above run $150 to $800 a month for a single location, more at high call volume. Pay-as-you-go plans with no bundle start around $44 to $49 a month plus a per-minute rate.
None of the vendors in the table above publish a separate after-hours rate. The published monthly price already covers whatever hours the vendor answers. See /answering-service/after-hours for how Callable handles calls after you close.
The published plans in the table above price by the month or by a bundle of minutes and calls, not by time of day. A plan that answers around the clock costs the same whether the call lands at 2pm or 2am; check the vendor’s own page for which tier includes that coverage.
Averaging across the 58 published plans above: pay-as-you-go tiers start around $44 to $49 a month plus a per-minute rate, most single-location plans land between $150 and $800 a month, and high-volume plans run into the thousands.
Every price above was read directly from the vendor’s own public pricing page on 2026-09-24, or a text-proxy fetch of that page where the vendor’s site blocks automated readers. See the methodology note above for the vendors we couldn’t verify and left out rather than estimate.
No. Callable has no published monthly plan. You pay for usage, itemized by layer at the rate under Callable’s own receipt below, about $0.062 a minute on the default stack. New accounts start with $5 of free credit, no card required.
Every rate sourced. Callable’s own rate itemized.